Legal Cyber Academy

BS in Digital Forensics

A long-established on-campus bachelor's in digital forensics, carrying both the DoD Cyber Crime Center's CDFAE designation and the NSA's CAE in Cyber Defense designation.

Type: Degree & academicStudents

Offered by Champlain College

The facts

Cost
$48,800 per year, or $24,400 per semester, full-time for 2025-26, rising to $49,500 per year for 2026-27. Part-time study is $2,100 per credit.Figure read 2026-09-12 from www.champlain.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/tuition-fees
Prerequisites
Standard undergraduate admission. Programme-specific prerequisites were not stated on the page we read.
Format
On-campus in Burlington, Vermont. We found no current online bachelor's.
Length
A bachelor's degree. Credit hours were not stated on the programme page we read.
Renewal
No renewal or recertification requirement is published for this entry.
Accreditation
Designated a National Center of Digital Forensics Academic Excellence (CDFAE) by the DoD Cyber Crime Center, and an NSA Center of Academic Excellence in Cyber Defense Education. It does not appear on FEPAC's accredited-programs list.
Who it suits
A traditional undergraduate who can fund private tuition and wants a dedicated, federally designated forensics degree.
Audience
Students

Strengths

  • Two independent federal designations — CDFAE and NSA CAE-CD — which is a stronger third-party signal than most programmes in this category carry.
  • A dedicated digital forensics degree rather than a cybersecurity degree with a forensics elective.
  • Champlain reports 80% of its Class of 2025 in employment or continued education within six months, with a median starting salary of $72,500.

Limitations

  • $48,800 a year is at the top of this category. A public-university master's costs a fraction of the four-year total.
  • The employment and salary figures are the college's own and are not independently audited.
  • On-campus only, so it is not a route for anyone already working.
  • A widely repeated claim that Champlain offers an online MS in Digital Forensic Science did not check out — we found only an 18-credit online undergraduate certificate restricted to degree students. Verify before assuming an online graduate route exists.

Sources

Costs, prerequisites and exam formats in this field change often, and several providers price by region, cohort or employer agreement. Every figure on this page carries the date it was read and a link to the page it was read from. Confirm current terms with the provider before you spend anything.

Other degree & academic options