Degree or certification in digital forensics
They are not competing answers to one question. They clear different obstacles, and which obstacle is in front of you decides it.
The short answer
Get a degree if a job posting or an agency rule requires one, because no certification substitutes and federal financial aid only attaches to accredited degree programs. Get a certification if you already meet the education requirement and need to prove current, specific skill — it is faster, far cheaper, and closer to the work. Most careers end up needing both, in that order.
Costs, prerequisites and exam formats in this field change often, and several providers price by region, cohort or employer agreement. Every figure on this page carries the date it was read and a link to the page it was read from. Confirm current terms with the provider before you spend anything.
What each one actually buys you
A degree
- It clears a hard filter. Many federal, agency and large-employer postings state a degree requirement that an applicant tracking system enforces before a human reads anything.
- Federal financial aid attaches to accredited degree programmes, so a $20,000 master’s can cost less out of pocket in year one than a $999 exam nobody will fund.
- It teaches the things tool training skips: statistics, research method, writing, and in a criminal-justice programme like John Jay’s, the evidentiary and legal frame.
- Programme-level accreditation is checkable. FEPAC accreditation is what crime labs recognise, and of the digital forensics degrees we checked only Eastern Kentucky’s carries it under that label. NSA CAE in Cyber Defense designation is the equivalent signal for federal cybersecurity hiring.
A certification
- It clears a different filter — the recruiter keyword search — and does it in months rather than years.
- It can be assessed on work product. IACIS CFCE grades four coached scenario problems and a hard-drive practical; ISFCE CCE grades three full written examinations. No degree grades you that way.
- It stays current. A certification is reissued against a revised blueprint; a degree curriculum moves on a multi-year accreditation cycle, which is why programmes that name their tooling stand out.
- It is cheaper per unit of proof. $495 for a CCE examination, $800 for the CFCE process, £399 for a BTL1 that never needs renewing.
The cost comparison, on the same page
Note the difference in how these are priced. Universities publish per credit, per year, or as a programme total, and we do not multiply a per-credit rate out into a total the institution does not itself state — an estimate printed as a price is how a directory starts lying. Certifications publish an exam fee that usually excludes mandatory training.
| Program | Provider | Cost (as published) | Format & length | Prerequisites |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MS in Digital Forensics | University of Central Florida | $369.65 per credit in-state and $1,276.48 per credit out-of-state, over 30 credit hours. UCF publishes a per-credit rate rather than a programme total, so we do not multiply it out.As published 2026-09-12 · source for MS in Digital Forensics cost | 100% online, with an on-campus option for a thesis defence. 30 credit hours.30 credit hours; the programme page does not state a fixed completion time. | A bachelor's in computer science, computer engineering, IT or a closely related field. Applicants from other fields need basic CS or IT coursework, training or working experience in CS, IT or digital forensics. Requires a résumé, a statement of objectives and three letters of recommendation. |
| MS in Digital Forensics and Cyber Investigation | University of Maryland Global Campus | $694 per credit for 2026-27, charged at the same rate in-state and out-of-state because UMGC prices online study flat. The military rate is $336 per credit. 30 credits, of which up to 12 are transferable.As published 2026-09-12 · source for MS in Digital Forensics and Cyber Investigation cost | Online. 30 credits — 15 core, 12 elective and a 3-credit capstone. UMGC estimates about 18 months at two courses per term.About 18 months at two courses per term. | No specific undergraduate major is required. UMGC recommends a background in computing and programming, and strong writing skills. |
| MS in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics | Stevenson University | $719 per credit with no fees, over 36 credits. Stevenson publishes the per-credit rate; the academic year it applies to was not labelled on the page we read, so confirm currency.As published 2026-09-12 · source for MS in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics cost | 100% online, 36 credits.Two years or less, per the programme page. | A bachelor's from a regionally accredited institution in a related field, or an unrelated field plus IT, cybersecurity or forensics coursework or professional experience. Cumulative 3.0 GPA, and a personal statement on forensic-tools and evidence-handling experience. International transcripts need a NACES evaluation. |
| Graduate Certificate in Digital Forensics | SANS Technology Institute (SANS.edu) | $22,800 total programme cost for 12 credits, as published by SANS.edu, plus a $35 application fee. That is roughly $1,900 per credit-equivalent.As published 2026-09-12 · source for Graduate Certificate in Digital Forensics cost | 12 credits, online or with in-person course options, taught by practising professionals. Four GIAC certifications are awarded on completion.18 to 24 months. | A current professional role in information security or a closely related field. Applications are accepted monthly on a rolling basis. |
| BS in Digital Forensics and Cybersecurity | Eastern Kentucky University | Not verified. EKU's published tuition rates were not retrievable in our research pass, so we state no figure — check EKU's own tuition page before relying on any number you find elsewhere.As published 2026-09-12 · source for BS in Digital Forensics and Cybersecurity cost | Undergraduate degree program. Delivery mode not verified.A bachelor's degree, typically four years. | Standard undergraduate admission. Specific program prerequisites were not verified. |
| BS in Digital Forensics | Champlain College | $48,800 per year, or $24,400 per semester, full-time for 2025-26, rising to $49,500 per year for 2026-27. Part-time study is $2,100 per credit.As published 2026-09-12 · source for BS in Digital Forensics cost | On-campus in Burlington, Vermont. We found no current online bachelor's.A bachelor's degree. Credit hours were not stated on the programme page we read. | Standard undergraduate admission. Programme-specific prerequisites were not stated on the page we read. |
| Program | Provider | Cost (as published) | Format & length | Prerequisites |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GCFE — GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner | GIAC (Global Information Assurance Certification) | $999 for the certification attempt on its own ($899 for a retake). The paired SANS FOR500 course is listed separately at $8,780.As published 2026-09-12 · source for GCFE — GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner cost | One proctored exam, remote or at a test centre. 82 questions, 3 hours, 70% to pass. GIAC's GCFE page does not describe this exam as using the CyberLive performance format.Exam only. The paired FOR500 course is six days instructor-led or about 36 hours self-paced, with four months of OnDemand access. | None published. GIAC describes the audience as anyone with a background in information systems, information security and computers. |
| CFCE — Certified Forensic Computer Examiner | IACIS (International Association of Computer Investigative Specialists) | $800 for the external CFCE certification process, with IACIS membership waived on purchase. Recertification after expiry is $350. The 72 training hours you must show first are a separate cost — IACIS's own BCFE course was listed at €4,800 for the October 2026 Budapest delivery.As published 2026-09-12 · source for CFCE — Certified Forensic Computer Examiner cost | Phase 1 peer review: four scenario-based practical problems, 30 days each, with an assigned coach; all four must pass. Phase 2 certification: a graded hard-drive practical over 30 days plus a written exam over 14 days, 80% minimum on both.Roughly a year in practice — four 30-day peer-review problems followed by the certification phase, which runs on IACIS's annual calendar. | Proof of 72 hours of training aligned to the CFCE core competencies. Non-law-enforcement candidates are eligible through the external track and Associate membership, which requires a background check. |
| CCE — Certified Computer Examiner | ISFCE (International Society of Forensic Computer Examiners) | $495 for the CCE examination, $250 for the two-year recertification, $150 for a retake. The required CCE training course is a separate $4,995 (listed at $3,996 with a published discount code), or $3,995 for the bootcamp. Law-enforcement, government and military discounts of 5-25% are noted.As published 2026-09-12 · source for CCE — Certified Computer Examiner cost | An online knowledge assessment plus practical examinations — forensically examining three distinct media sources and producing a comprehensive, detailed report for each. Candidates sign a code of ethics and submit a notarised statement of independent work; collaboration and plagiarism are expressly forbidden.Self-paced through the practicals; the training course that precedes it is a multi-day program or bootcamp. | Completion of the ISFCE CCE training course or an authorised training centre equivalent, or substitution of another recognised digital-forensics credential with documented experience. Full Member status additionally requires at least eighteen months of verifiable professional examination experience; candidates without it are awarded Associate status. |
| BTL1 — Blue Team Level 1 | Centri (trading as Security Team Training Ltd; formerly Security Blue Team) | £399.00, which includes about 30 hours of coursework, four months of on-demand material access and one free resit voucher. Priced in pounds only; the dollar cost moves with the exchange rate.As published 2026-09-12 · source for BTL1 — Blue Team Level 1 cost | About 30 hours of coursework followed by one 24-hour practical incident-response exam with immediate grading and feedback.Four months of material access; the exam itself is a 24-hour window. | None. The provider states plainly that there are no entry requirements for the exam, and recommends it for people with zero to two years of experience. |
Three real numbers that make the choice concrete
- A public online master’s can cost less than one SANS course. UCF publishes $369.65 per credit in-state over a 30-credit MS in Digital Forensics. One SANS FOR-series course is listed at $8,780 and is not a degree. If a degree requirement is in your way, this is not a close comparison.
- A graduate certificate can be the most expensive credit you buy. SANS.edu publishes $22,800 for its 12-credit Graduate Certificate in Digital Forensics — about $1,900 per credit-equivalent, roughly five times UCF’s in-state rate. It bundles four GIAC certifications, which are worth about $4,000 at $999 an attempt, and it is accredited and NSA-designated. Whether that premium is worth it depends entirely on whether someone else is paying.
- Residency can move the number more than the programme does. UCF is $369.65 per credit in-state and $1,276.48 out-of-state — a 3.5x swing. UMGC charges one flat $694 per credit regardless of residency, and $336 for military. Before comparing institutions, work out which rate applies to you.
The sequence most careers actually follow
- Free material first — hands-on labs, published datasets, open-source tooling. This costs nothing and tells you whether you like the work, which is the most valuable thing you can learn at this stage.
- One cheap, practically assessed certification, to have something on the CV and to prove to yourself that you can produce a graded examination.
- A degree, if and only if a filter you are actually hitting demands one — and preferably funded by an employer, financial aid or veteran benefits rather than out of pocket.
- The expensive, recognised certification once an employer will fund it. This is the right time for SANS and GIAC, not the beginning.
Running that sequence backwards — an expensive certification first, bought personally, before you know whether the work suits you — is the most common and most costly mistake in this field.
Entries covered on this page
- MS in Digital Forensics
- MS in Digital Forensics and Cyber Investigation
- MS in Cybersecurity and Digital Forensics
- Graduate Certificate in Digital Forensics
- BS in Digital Forensics and Cybersecurity
- BS in Digital Forensics
- GCFE — GIAC Certified Forensic Examiner
- CFCE — Certified Forensic Computer Examiner
- CCE — Certified Computer Examiner
- BTL1 — Blue Team Level 1
Back to the full directory — 61 entries with sourced costs and stated limitations.